Inspiration
Kick it like Google

No one expects their place of work to be like an adventure playground. But managers have recognized the need to offer staff more than an ergonomic desk and decent coffee.

Table Soccer 24/7

In offices that thrive off creativity, such as young tech start-ups or ad agencies, staff are all but forced into playing games at work. Many feature table soccer tables dotted throughout the building to ensure that stressed digital natives can dash to the nearest barsball table to break the tension by kicking a little plastic ball around a piece of green felt. Other companies favor the good old table tennis table, either the full-sized original or in a miniature version.

Play at the office has long been seen as epitomizing the modern work environment. Internet giants such as Google took a lead in offering analog leisure activities that were the height of fashion in the 19th century. Google’s offices from Hamburg to the Silicon Valley even feature full-on “play zones”.

Playing billiards Google Dublin (Design: evolutiondesign, Foto: Peter Würmli)


Disruptive Innovation

Someone, somewhere made a connection between table soccer and disruptive innovation. Suddenly, a bonsai version of a soccer field on stilts was seen as a touchstone that would boost creativity at the workplace to new heights. In the “Valley”, the term barsball (a corruption of the German word “Fußball”) has become the insiders’ nomenclature for table soccer. Company leaders in Europe, however, were slow in realizing that having antiquated toys standing around didn’t magically transform their corporate culture, or somehow turn their employees into an army of little Mark Zuckerbergs.

Google cottoned on and tried other ways of keeping its employees at work for longer. Among these are Michelin-starred restaurants, first-class concerts for staff and a company shuttle service, provided to forge ever-closer ties between the company and its workforce. Google even runs a bus service in San Francisco that picks up programmers who don’t own a car and brings them to work, presumably ferrying them back late at night.


PlayStation Arcade Action

But these kinds of employee perks have also started to find their way into other industries beyond the creative playgrounds of ad agencies and tech companies. A recent study in Germany listed companies that are trying their hardest to catch up with Google. Heading the list of German Companies With The Most Employee Perks was renewable electricity supplier Lichtblick, which even set up barsball tables in company colors and offered staff magazines and entertaining reading for their breaks. The company that tried hardest, though, was Arithnea, a digital service consultancy. All seven regional offices feature gaming rooms with PlayStations and Nintendo consoles hooked up to wall-sized screens. Employees can head for one of the comfy sofas to enjoy the latest first-person shooter, probably just like their kids are doing at home.

Playroom at Google Dublin (design: evolutiondesign, photo: Peter Würmli)


Play As A Competitive Advantage

Planners designing office space for employee-oriented companies should be include plenty of space for entertaining staff. While the jury is still out on whether these facilities actually increase productivity, the real driver here is a desire to heighten a company’s chances of attracting qualified and talented workers. These days, candidates often ask about these kinds of perks during their interviews. For many companies, play and relaxation at work has become a way of out-performing the competition. The option of rekindling creativity with a few minutes of creative play may make sense in some cases. Those looking for a more interactive form of workplace entertainment should try a round of boules on the office carpet.


Budget-Conscious Approaches To Team-Building

Playing a game with colleagues or co-workers often has a positive effect on group dynamics, offering a way of resolving some intra-team conflicts “on the pitch”.

But office games can also offer a cheap yet accessible way to support team-building. Some companies go to extraordinary lengths to instill that elusive sense of bonding in their teams, like renting a nearby sports facility. A group hug after winning a table soccer match can, however, be just as effective. And not every office has to mimic Google’s approach, which includes playground slides between floors for a few seconds of child-like excitement during your work day. Rumors that the working day at Google begins with game of hide-and-seek followed by a milk snack and nap remain unconfirmed.

Gaming area at VodafonZiggo, Rotterdam (design: evolutiondesign, photo: Peter Würmli)

Header photo: Google Dublin (design: evolutiondesign, photo: Peter Würmli)

Author: Klaus Rathje

© Office Inspiration
For the commercial re-publishing please contact office@officeinspiration.com

Add to Collection

Inspiration
Kick it like Google

Dass die Büroumgebung einem Abenteuerspielplatz gleicht, hat sich nicht flächendeckend durchsetzen können. Allerdings haben Unternehmen erkannt, dass sie ihren Mitarbeitern mehr bieten müssen als nur einen ergonomischen Schreibtisch und vernünftigen Kaffee.

Pro Sichtachse ein Kicker

Ob Start-up oder Werbeagentur – in Büros, wo vermeintlich viel Kreativität vorhanden ist, kommen Mitarbeiter nicht ums Spielen herum. In jeder Sichtachse muss sich ein Tischkicker befinden, damit sich der Digital Native im Notfall sofort in einen anderen Bewusstseinszustand kegeln kann. Andere Firmen bieten als Spiel-Alternative die gute alte Tischtennisplatte an, die entweder mit den Originalmaßen aufgestellt wird, oder auch als Miniaturmodell.

Spielen im Büro stand lange Zeit für die moderne Arbeitsumgebung schlechthin. Ausgerechnet Internet-Giganten wie Google preschten mit diesen Analog-Freizeitangeboten aus dem vorletzten Jahrhundert voran. Ganze „Spielzonen“ finden sich in Google-Büros von Hamburg bis ins Silicon Valley.

Billard spielen bei Google Dublin (Design: evolutiondesign, Foto: Peter Würmli)


Dispruptives Geschäftsmodell

Irgendwer hat dann Tischticker mit disruptiven Geschäftsmodellen in Verbindung gebracht und sich gedacht, dass so ein schwerfälliger Bonsai-Rasen auf Stelzen die Kreativität fördern müsste. Übrigens hat sich im „Valley“, wie der eingeweihte „Digitalisto“ verkürzt sagt, der deutsche Begriff „Fußball“ (oder auch „Football“) als Fachbegriff für Tischkicker eingebürgert. Jedenfalls haben Firmenchefs in Old Europe lange nicht verstanden, dass ein antiquiertes Spielgerät noch lange nicht die Firmenkultur ändert oder Mitarbeiter zu kleinen Mark Zuckerbergs werden lässt.

Selbst Google weiß das und hat versucht, deswegen nicht nur die Mitarbeiter mit Spielen länger im Büro festzuhalten, sondern auch mit firmeneigenen Sternerestaurants, erstklassigen Konzerten für Mitarbeiter und einem eigenen Shuttle-Service enger an sich zu binden. Google betreibt in San Francisco tatsächlich eine eigene Buslinie, die autolose Programmierer von Daheim abholt und – vermutlich erst spätnachts – wieder zu Hause abliefert.


Zockerräume mit PlayStations

Diese Goodies für Mitarbeiter – in den USA „Perks“ („Vorteile“ oder „Vergünstigungen“) genannt – haben nun auch Vertreter außerhalb der Kreativwirtschaft eingeführt. Erstmals gibt es dazu sogar eine Studie, die deutsche Arbeitgeber auflistet, die sich möglichst googlish geben wollen. Auf Platz 1 im Ranking „Beste Benefits der deutschen Wirtschaft“ landete der Ökostromanbieter Lichtblick, der zum Chillen sogar in Unternehmensfarben gebrandete Tischkicker aufstellen ließ, aber auch Unterhaltungsliteratur für Arbeitspausen anbietet. Den Vogel schoss die Digitalberatung Arithnea ab. An allen sieben Standorten existieren inzwischen Zockerräume mit PlayStations und Nintendo-Konsolen, angeschlossen an wandgroßen Flatscreens. Wer sich hier zum virtuellen Ballern zurückziehen möchte, kann sich in die Sofas lümmeln, wie die eigenen Teenagerkinder das daheim wohl auch tun würden.

Spieleraum bei Google Dublin (Design: evolutiondesign, Foto: Peter Würmli)


Spielen als Wettbewerbsvorteil

Büroplaner müssen ab jetzt jedenfalls reichlich Platz einkalkulieren für diverse Vergnügungsviertel im mitarbeiterorientierten Office. Ob es die Produktivität am Ende des Tages steigert, sei dahingestellt, denn längst geht es hierzulande darum, überhaupt qualifizierte Mitarbeiter ins Unternehmen zu holen und die fragen schon im Bewerbungsgespräch gezielt nach diesen Zusatzleistungen am Arbeitsplatz. Das Spielen und Relaxen im Büro ist also zu einer Art Wettbewerbsvorteil aufgestiegen. Etwas spielerisch abzuschalten, dürfte bei manchem zumindest die Kreativität verbessern. Wer es interaktiv mag, sollte seine Kollegen zu einer Runde Boule über den glatten Office-Teppich überreden.


Günstiges Teambuilding

Oft hat das gemeinsame Spielen mit Kollegen einen angenehmen gruppendynamischen Effekt, bei dem sich mancher Team-Konflikt „auf dem Platz“ austragen lässt.

Der vergleichsweise kostengünstige Teambuilding-Effekt durch betriebliches Zocken ist nicht von der Hand zu weisen. Um jenes Wir-Gefühl zu erzeugen, das sich einstellt, wenn man sich nach einem gewonnenen Match in den Armen liegt, mieten andere Betriebe ganze Logen im örtlichen Fußball-Club an. Und es muss ja nicht jedes Büro wie bei Google aussehen. Da können Mitarbeiter von einer Etage zur anderen mit einer Rutsche gelangen und sich wieder wie ein Kind fühlen. Dass dort der Arbeitstag stets mit einer Runde Topfschlagen beginnt, dessen Gewinner mit einer Schüssel M&M´s belohnt wird, ist allerdings nur ein Gerücht.

Spielebereich bei VodafonZiggo, Rotterdam (Design: evolutiondesign, Foto: Peter Würmli)

Titelfoto: Google Dublin (Design: evolutiondesign, Foto: Peter Würmli)

Autor: Klaus Rathje

© Office Inspiration
Für die kommerzielle Wiederveröffentlichung wenden Sie sich bitte an office@officeinspiration.com

Zur Merkliste