Adobe East Tower, San Jose

Facts

Location:
San Jose, USA
Client:
Adobe Systems Inc.
Industry:
Software Developement
Year of completion:
2019
Experts:
Media Objectives (Experiential Graphic Design)
HGA (Architecture & Design/Interior Design)

Experiential Graphics

Housed in a highrise constructed in 1998, Adobe realized that its San Jose headquarters were going to need incremental updating that would fit their culture and vision. A series of design charettes with the branding team amounted to two core architectural themes: the “Santa Cruz Mountains” and “California Coastal,” which were adapted into various aspects of the Adobe story. Opportunities for community engagement as well artwork were developed akin to these themes, all the while embracing Adobe’s ethos of being ‘globally consistent yet locally relevant.’

Each wall graphic or artwork installation directly ties to the nature theme of the floor, but in many instances also reference science and the innovation behind their products. Symbols from Adobe’s digital interface were integrated into printed artwork, adding moments of delight by merging images with Adobe’s design products. To encourage employee engagement, each floor includes a custom pegboard near the break room containing moveable clipboards. This space allows employees to showcase personal projects, items of inspiration, team photos, and community / event information. This aligns with the #adobelife initiative that showcases glimpses into the life of Adobe employees.

The teams also commissioned two artists, Erik Otto and Hannah Sitzer to create a large mural on each floor. Each were challenged to express their personal responses to the “Santa Cruz Mountains” and “California Coastal” themes while showing the creative process behind the art. These mixed media installations included a variety of handmade and found objects (driftwood, sailcloth, etc) combined to create a large installation along the main corridor.

The overarching design strategy merges art and science — referencing the local environment while adding a layer of wonder and innovation true to Adobe’s brand. Just as the design team (and commissioned artists) experimented with unique materials and leveraged Adobe’s cutting-edge products, the idea is for Adobe employees and collaborators to continue to innovate and employ novel thinking to their own work.

Quote:

“Leveraging Adobe’s creative toolkit and story of innovation allowed the team to reference local nature in a bold, dynamic way —from large immersive moments in public spaces to small flashes of delight in collaboration spaces.”- Noah Jeppson, Lead Designer, Media-Objectives

Credits:

Photographer: Jasper Sanidad, Francisco Lopez de Arenosa, Antlre 

Experiential Graphic Designer: Media-Objectives

Architect / Interior Designer: HGA

Adobe East Tower, San Jose

Steckbrief

Ort:
San Jose, USA
Kunde:
Adobe Systems Inc.
Branche:
Softwareentwicklung
Fertigstellungsjahr:
2019
Experten:
Media Objectives (Experimentelles Grafikdesign)
HGA (Architektur & Design/Interior Design)

Experiential Graphics

Adobe befand sich in einem Hochhaus aus dem Jahr 1998 und erkannte, dass der Hauptsitz in San Jose schrittweise eine Erneuerung brauchte, um ihrer Kultur und Vision gerecht zu werden. Eine Reihe von Design-Charettes mit dem Branding-Team umfasste zwei architektonische Kernthemen: die „Santa Cruz Mountains“ und „California Coastal“, die an verschiedene Aspekte der Adobe-Geschichte angepasst wurden. In ähnlicher Weise wurden Möglichkeiten für das Engagement der Community sowie für Kunstwerke entwickelt, wobei das Ethos von Adobe berücksichtigt wurde, „global konsistent und dennoch lokal relevant“ zu sein.

Jede Wandgrafik oder Kunstinstallation knüpft direkt an das Naturthema des Bodens an, bezieht sich aber in vielen Fällen auch auf die Wissenschaft und die Innovation hinter ihren Produkten. Die Symbole der digitalen Benutzeroberfläche von Adobe wurden in gedruckte Grafiken integriert und sorgten für Momente der Freude, indem Bilder mit den Designprodukten von Adobe zusammengeführt wurden. Um das Engagement der Mitarbeiter zu fördern, enthält jede Etage ein benutzerdefiniertes Steckbrett in der Nähe des Pausenraums mit beweglichen Zwischenablagen. In diesem Bereich können Mitarbeiter persönliche Projekte, Inspirationen, Teamfotos und Community- / Veranstaltungsinformationen präsentieren. Dies steht im Einklang mit der Initiative #adobelife, die Einblicke in das Leben der Adobe-Mitarbeiter bietet.

Die Teams beauftragten außerdem zwei Künstler, Erik Otto und Hannah Sitzer, für jede Etage ein großes Wandbild zu erstellen. Jeder wurde aufgefordert, seine persönlichen Antworten auf die Themen „Santa Cruz Mountains“ und „California Coastal“ auszudrücken und gleichzeitig den kreativen Prozess hinter der Kunst zu zeigen. Diese Installationen mit gemischten Medien umfassten eine Vielzahl von handgefertigten und gefundenen Objekten (Treibholz, Segeltuch usw.), die zu einer großen Installation entlang des Hauptkorridors kombiniert wurden.

Die übergreifende Designstrategie verbindet Kunst und Wissenschaft - sie bezieht sich auf die lokale Umgebung und fügt der Marke Adobe eine Ebene des Staunens und der Innovation hinzu. So wie das Designteam (und beauftragte Künstler) mit einzigartigen Materialien experimentierten und die neuesten Produkte von Adobe nutzten, sollten Adobe-Mitarbeiter und -Kollaborateure weiterhin Innovationen entwickeln und neuartiges Denken für ihre eigene Arbeit einsetzen.

Zitat:

„Durch die Nutzung des kreativen Toolkits und der Innovationsgeschichte von Adobe konnte das Team die lokale Natur auf kühne und dynamische Weise referenzieren - von großen immersiven Momenten im öffentlichen Raum bis hin zu kleinen Blitzen der Freude in Kollaborationsräumen.“ - Noah Jeppson, Lead Designer, Media-Objectives

 

Credits:

Photographer: Jasper Sanidad, Francisco Lopez de Arenosa, Antlre 

Experiential Graphic Designer: Media-Objectives

Architect / Interior Designer: HGA