Netflix HQ, Los Gatos

Facts

Location:
Los Gatos, USA
Client:
Netflix
Industry:
Media
Year of completion:
2018
Size:
22,390 m²
Experts:
Form4 Architecture (Interior Design)

An office landscape made for movies and series

Form4 Architecture created the design for Netflix to exude warm modernism at a human scale. Two buildings, totaling 22.390 square meters, are connected by a slender bridge located mid-air allowing for a free flow from building to building. The interior design blurs the distinction between work and social areas. Several types of distinct spaces were created through the use of dividers, furniture groupings, and architectural elements. Warm colors and varied textures impart a residential vibe. The overall design creates a relaxed and collaborative workspace.

The architecture tastefully showcases what building technology can do to convey beauty in the world of tectonics. Layering, extrusion, and interlocking of volumes are three prime design techniques adopted to let natural light reveal the architecture to its full form. The buildings are designed to be delicate and genteel, with a seamless relationship to light and nature. The tripartite façade has the imaginative interplay of aluminum fins, deep overhangs, and silver metal panels. The punched openings carved against the terracotta colored pre-cast panels ingeniously intertwine with the modern curtain wall system.

The interiors throughout focus on the movement and connection of collaborative spaces. The double- height lobby attracts visitors with glowing light and an array of natural materials, from stone floors to wood ceilings, to hand-flamed steel panels. At the center is the first-floor cafeteria, the main social space, which offers several seating options, including communal tables made of rough-hewn wood planks and more-intimate booths. Various ceiling textures—wooden slats, glowing white acoustical fabric, and hanging red lights—delineate different gathering spaces. The cafeteria pours out into a secure landscaped courtyard between the buildings.

Workspaces are open and light filled with a series of small meeting rooms playfully named after popular movies. Supergraphics on the glass walls carry on the specific movie theme while artfully lending some visual privacy to the fish-bowl rooms. A primary palette of blue, yellow, and red activates the space, contrasting well with natural wood accents.

Individual sanctuaries are designed for different effect. Glowing light benches are surrounded by wood-slat walls for a meditative retreat. A raised gathering space dubbed the “coliseum” sports threetiers of curved upholstered banquettes surrounding an inner circle; the discussion leader stands in the middle to make eye contact with the group. Natural materials come together in a casual conference space with one wall lined in stone and another in wood slats wrapping from wall to ceiling.

The garden defines the general experience of this project. Mature redwood trees ranging from 40 feet to 100 feet in height planted along a linear garden add to the bucolic character of the complex. They confer spatial majesty through their sheer size, with the architecture of the campus being a benevolent complement to its natural message.

This project showcases modernism’s latent capacity to convey warmth and to engage building occupants and daily visitors in an experience full of profound emotional meaning.

Credits:

Interior Design: Form4 Architecture

Corporation Landscape Architect: Studio Five Design

Structural Engineer: DCI Engineers

MdEP-Engineer: M-E Engineers

Theater Designer: Arup

Acoustical Consultant: Shen Milsom & Wilke

Photographers: John Sutton (interiors), Frank Perez (exteriors)

Netflix HQ, Los Gatos

Steckbrief

Ort:
Los Gatos, USA
Kunde:
Netflix
Branche:
Medien
Fertigstellungsjahr:
2018
Größe:
22.390 m²
Experten:
Form4 Architecture (Interior Design)

Eine filmreife Office-Landschaft

Form4 Architecture entwarf das Design für Netflix, um warmen Modernismus auf menschlicher Ebene zu verbreiten. Zwei Gebäude mit einer Gesamtfläche von 22.390 Quadratmetern sind durch eine schlanke Brücke in der Luft verbunden, die einen freien Zugang von Gebäude zu Gebäude ermöglicht. Das Interior Design verwischt den Unterschied zwischen Arbeits- und Sozialbereichen. Verschiedene Arten von unterschiedlichen Räumen wurden durch die Verwendung von Trennwänden, Möbelgruppierungen und architektonischen Elementen geschaffen. Warme Farben und abwechslungsreiche Texturen vermitteln ein wohnliches Flair. Das Gesamtdesign schafft einen entspannten und kollaborativen Arbeitsbereich.

Die Architektur zeigt geschmackvoll, was die Gebäudetechnologie für die Vermittlung von Schönheit in der Welt der Tektonik leisten kann. Bei den Beschichtungen und dem Ineinandergreifen des Volumens handelt es sich um drei Hauptentwurfstechniken, mit denen natürliches Licht die Architektur in ihrer vollen Form zum Vorschein bringt. Die Gebäude sind so gestaltet, dass sie filigran und vornehm sind und sich nahtlos mit Licht und Natur verbinden. Die dreigliedrige Fassade bildet ein fantasievolles Zusammenspiel von Aluminiumlamellen, tiefen Überhängen und silbernen Metallplatten. Die ausgestanzten Öffnungen, die in die terracotta-farbigen Fertigteilplatten eingraviert sind, greifen auf geniale Weise in das moderne Fassadensystem ein.

Die Innenräume konzentrieren sich auf die Bewegung und Verbindung von kollaborativen Räumen. Die Lobby mit doppelter Höhe zieht Besucher mit strahlendem Licht und einer Reihe natürlicher Materialien an, von Steinböden über Holzdecken bis hin zu handgeflammten Stahlplatten. Im Zentrum befindet sich die Cafeteria im ersten Stock, der wichtigste soziale Raum, der mehrere Sitzmöglichkeiten bietet, darunter Gemeinschaftstische aus rauen Holzbrettern und intimere Stände. Verschiedene Deckentexturen - Holzlatten, glühendes weißes Akustikgewebe und hängende rote Lichter - umreißen verschiedene Erfassungsräume. Die Cafeteria ergießt sich in einen sicheren, begrünten Innenhof zwischen den Gebäuden.

Die Arbeitsbereiche sind offen und lichtdurchflutet mit einer Reihe kleiner Besprechungsräume, die nach populären Filmen benannt sind. Supergraphics auf den Glaswänden führen das spezifische Filmthema fort und verleihen den "Fish-Bowls" kunstvoll etwas Privatsphäre. Eine Primärpalette aus Blau, Gelb und Rot aktiviert den Raum und kontrastiert gut mit natürlichen Holzakzenten. 

Einzelne Design-Heiligtümer sind auf unterschiedliche Wirkungen ausgelegt. Glühende Lichtbänke sind von Holzlattenwänden umgeben und bieten einen meditativen Rückzugsort. Natürliche Materialien vereinen sich in einem ungezwungenen Konferenzraum, wobei eine Wand in Stein ausgekleidet ist und eine andere in Holzlatten, die von Wand zu Decke gewickelt werden.

Der Garten definiert die allgemeine Erfahrung dieses Projekts. Reife Rotholzbäume von 40 bis 100 Fuß Höhe, die entlang eines linearen Gartens gepflanzt wurden, tragen zum bukolischen Charakter des Komplexes bei. Sie verleihen räumliche Majestät durch ihre schiere Größe, wobei die Architektur des Campus eine wohlwollende Ergänzung zu ihrer natürlichen Botschaft ist.

Dieses Projekt zeigt die latente Fähigkeit des Modernismus, Wärme zu vermitteln und die Bewohner und täglichen Besucher  in ein Erlebnis voller tiefer emotionaler Bedeutung einzubinden.

Credits:

Interior Design: Form4 Architecture

Landschaftsarchitekt: Studio Five Design

Baustatiker: DCI Engineers

MdEP-Ingenieur: M-E Engineers

Theater Designer: Arup

Akustischer Berater: Shen Milsom & Wilke

Photographers: John Sutton (interiors), Frank Perez (exteriors)