The Royal Photographic Society, Bristol

Facts

Location:
Bristol, England
Client:
The Royal Photographic Society
Industry:
Creative industries
Year of completion:
2018
Size:
883 m²

An office with a focus on the cultural vision

Outgrowing their Bath office, the Royal Photographic Society (RPS) turned to Interaction for the design and fit out of a flexible and multifunctional HQ within Bristol’s creative quarter, The Paintworks. RPS set out with Interaction to transform the empty shell into a space that both reflected the new RPS brand but also the cultural modernisation of the charity. 

With a push to increase awareness of what RPS has to offer it was important that the design captured both simplicity (for the ability of the building to quickly adapt to varying usage) and creativity (to showcase the depth of their photography history). With this in mind, Interaction were confident they could deliver a really attractive design coupled with a functional fit out. 

Following a complete ground up fit out of all services, the RPS Paintworks office now provides a space for a multitude of audiences and uses. The large reception area, which leads onto an adjoining custom-built auditorium, provides the perfect event space following lectures, screenings and assessments. For photography enthusiasts, a fully bespoke gallery displays a diverse collection of exhibitions. With a simple and minimalistic design, the gallery is easily adaptable to meet the different needs of each showcase. Extending its services, the second floor is a dedicated resource centre. The large meeting room offers a great conferencing space, whilst the library of photography archives provides a quiet environment for research and education. 

The natural flow of the building guides the way with a photography timeline running up the central staircase, leading finally to the RPS office space. The team now have an open, flexible and modern office to reflect their cultural shift. With quiet booths for concentration, ad hoc meeting areas for collaboration and a central tea point, the space offers options for a multitude of working environments. 

By focusing on the cultural vision, Interaction were able to handover a space fit for purpose but also embedded with unique design quirks and personal touches. 

Quote:

"From our first meeting with some of our trustees at the Interaction offices in Bath, we felt a level of confidence that they knew exactly what was needed to manage project quality, cost and timings. Interaction were totally committed to delivering a building in line with our hopes and expectations. It was a great team effort from all at Interaction, performing with great focus and commitment." - Robert Albright, President of The Royal Photographic Society

Credits:

Interior Design: Interaction

Photographer: Photos offered by Interaction

The Royal Photographic Society, Bristol

Steckbrief

Ort:
Bristol, England
Kunde:
The Royal Photographic Society
Branche:
Kreativbranche
Fertigstellungsjahr:
2018
Größe:
883 m²
Experten:
Interaction (Interior Design)

Ein Office mit Fokus auf die kulturelle Vision

Die Royal Photographic Society (RPS), die aus ihrem Bath-Büro herauswuchs, wandte sich an Interaction für das Design und die Ausstattung eines flexiblen und multifunktionalen Hauptsitzes innerhalb des Kreativviertels von Bristol, The Paintworks. RPS begann mit Interaction die Umwandlung der leeren Hülle in einen Raum, der sowohl die neue RPS-Marke als auch die kulturelle Modernisierung der Wohltätigkeitsorganisation widerspiegelt.

Um das Bewusstsein für das Angebot von RPS zu schärfen, war es wichtig, dass das Design des neuen Offices sowohl die Einfachheit (für die Fähigkeit des Gebäudes, sich schnell an die unterschiedliche Nutzung anzupassen) als auch die Kreativität (um die Tiefe ihrer fotografischen Geschichte darzustellen) des Gebäudes unterstreicht. Vor diesem Hintergrund war Interaction zuversichtlich, ein wirklich attraktives Design und eine funktionale Ausstattung zu liefern.

Das RPS Paintworks-Büro bietet nun eine komplette Grundausstattung aller Dienste und bietet nun Raum für eine Vielzahl von Zielgruppen und Nutzungen. Der große Empfangsbereich, der zu einem angrenzenden, maßgeschneiderten Auditorium führt, bietet die perfekte Veranstaltungsfläche für Vorträge, Screenings und Bewertungen. Für Liebhaber der Fotografie gibt es eine maßgeschneiderte Galerie mit einer vielfältigen Ausstellungssammlung. Mit einem einfachen und minimalistischen Design kann die Galerie leicht an die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen jedes Schaufensters angepasst werden. In der zweiten Etage befindet sich ein großer Besprechungsraum, der als Konferenzraum genutzt werden kann, während die Bibliothek mit Fotoarchiven eine ruhige Umgebung für Forschung und Bildung bietet.

Der natürliche Fluss des Gebäudes leitet den Weg für Besucher mit einer fotografischen Zeitleiste, die die zentrale Treppe hinaufführt und schließlich zu den RPS-Büroräumen führt. Das Team verfügt jetzt über ein offenes, flexibles und modernes Büro, um den kulturellen Wandel zu reflektieren. Mit ruhigen Kabinen für Konzentration, ad-hoc-Besprechungsbereichen für die Zusammenarbeit und einem zentralen Tee-Point bietet das Office Optionen für eine Vielzahl von Arbeitsumgebungen.

Durch die Konzentration auf die kulturelle Vision konnte Interaction einen Raum gestalten, der für den Zweck geeignet, aber auch mit einzigartigen Design-Elementen und persönlichen Highlights versehen ist.

Zitat:

"Nach unserem ersten Treffen mit einigen unserer Kunden in den Büros von Interaction in Bath waren wir uns sicher, dass sie genau wissen, was für die Projektverwaltung erforderlich ist: Qualität, Kosten- und Zeiteffizienz. Interaction hat sich ganz dem Ziel verschrieben, ein Gebäude zu liefern, das unseren Hoffnungen und Erwartungen entspricht. Es war eine großartige Teamleistung von Interaction." - Robert Albright, Präsident der Royal Photographic Society

Credits:

Interior Design: Interaction

Photographer: Fotos zur Verfügung gestellt von Interaction