Zalando Fashion Hub, Berlin

Facts

Location:
Berlin, Germany
Client:
Zalando SE
Industry:
E-Commerce
Year of completion:
2013
Experts:
de Winder Architekten (Interior Design)

Reformulation of a historic building, for a flexible, interactive work environment.

Before the Berlin-based online mail-order company's locations were redesigned, a corporate architecture was developed in 2012, which was then used as an architectural and creative model across locations.

The landmarked, redbrick Knorr Bremse AG building on the north side of the Spree at Berlin's Ostkreuz has served as a fashion location since mid-2013. The former site of the School of Economics and Law (HWR) was completely renovated and redeveloped for Zalando together with Berggruen Holdings in 2012/2013.

When the space was restructured, a traditional office atmosphere in a cell configuration with hallway areas was deliberately avoided in lieu of an emphasis on recreating an industrial atmosphere. The result was wide rows and common areas with communication zones and open sight lines within the space. The building's original character was reformulated by exposing historic ribbed slabs and technical fittings and by using robust parquet flooring.

Relocating the glass facade has given the entry area the look of a wider room, an impression that was representatively enhanced by a wall design that creates an illusion of space with high mirrors in combination with fashion show motifs. This image motif was taken up again as an artistic element in the elevator rotunda by means of photographic wallpaper and recalls the principle behind old phenakistoscopes. All of the photo motifs were taken from the award-winning book series The Berlin Fashionweek Photodiary™ (www.thephotodiary.de) published by Joern Toellner and Marc Schuhmann. The books provide a behind-the-scenes look at Berlin Fashion Week – photographed unadorned, true to life, and analog.

Black floor tiles, vertical neon torches, and colored seat upholstery in the waiting areas complement the concept behind the space. Equipping the workstations with workbenches specially developed for Zalando plays on the association with factory workshops. The plywood tables and chairs in the break areas complement the basic design idea for a flexible, interactive working environment.

Credits: Design: de Winder Photographer: Mark Seelen

Zalando Fashion Hub, Berlin

Steckbrief

Ort:
Berlin, Deutschland
Kunde:
Zalando SE
Branche:
E-Commerce
Fertigstellungsjahr:
2013
Experten:
de Winder Architekten (Interior Design)

Neuformulierung eines historischen Gebäudes, für ein flexibles, interaktives Arbeitsumfeld

Der Umgestaltung der Standorte für den Berliner Onlineversandhändler ging 2012 die Entwicklung einer Corporate Architecture voraus, die als architektonisches und gestalterisches Leitbild standortübergreifend angewendet wurde. 

Als Fashion-Standort dient seit Mitte 2013 der denkmalgeschützte Backsteinbau der Knorr Bremse AG nördlich der Spree am Berliner Ostkreuz. Der ehemalige Sitz der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht (HWR) wurde 2012/2013 gemeinsam mit der Berggruen Holdings für das Unternehmen Zalando komplett saniert und neu ausgebaut. 

Bewusst wurde bei der Umgestaltung der Fläche auf eine klassische Büroatmosphäre mit Zellenstruktur und Flurzonen verzichtet und der Akzent auf die Wiederherstellung der industriellen Atmosphäre gelegt. Es entstanden weite Fluchten und Gemeinschaftsflächen mit Kommunikationszonen und freien Blickachsen im Raum. Durch die Freilegung der historischen Rippendecke und der Technikinstallationen sowie der Verwendung von robustem Parkett gelang eine Neuformulierung des ursprünglichen Charakters des Gebäudes. 

Der Eingangsbereich erhielt durch die Versetzung der Glasfassade einen breiteren Raumeindruck und wurde durch eine Raumillusion erzeugende Wandgestaltung mit hohen Spiegeln in Kombination mit Fashionshow-Motiven repräsentativ aufgewertet und. Dieses Bildmotiv wurde als gestalterisches Element in der Liftrotunde mittels Fototapete wieder aufgegriffen und erinnert dort an das Prinzip des historischen Phenakistiskops. Alle Fotomotive stammen aus der von Joern Toellner & Marc Schuhmann veröffentlichten preisgekrönten Buchserie The Berlin Fashionweek Photodiary™ (www.thephotodiary.de). Die Bücher gewähren Blicke hinter die Kulissen der Berliner Modewoche – ungeschönt, lebensecht und analog photographiert.

Schwarze Bodenfliesen, senkrechte Neonstableuchten und farbige Sitzpolster in den Wartebereichen ergänzen das Raumkonzept. 

Die Ausstattung der Arbeitsplätze mit eigens für Zalando entwickelten Workbenches spielen mit der Assoziation zu Werkhallen. Die aus Sperrholz gestalteten Tisch- und Sitzelemente in den Pausenbereichen ergänzen die grundlegende Gestaltungsidee für ein flexibles, interaktives Arbeitsumfeld.

Credits: Design: de Winder Photographer: Mark Seelen